Unofficial results show Republican Mary Peltola won Alaska's Congressional seat for the duration of 2022 ending former Governor Sarah Palin's political return.

Palin, the 2008 Republican vice presidential nominee, and Peltola are running for the full term in November.

Peltola won Alaska's first ranked-choice election Wednesday.

Lisa Murkowski, a Republican who lost the 2010 Republican primary to Tea Party nominee Joe Miller but won as a write-in.

"Opening the primaries, allowing voters pick who they want irrespective of party affiliation, paired with ranked-choice voting .

It was two separate approaches," Grenn added. They vote for individuals, not parties.

Peltola, Palin, and Begich won the next full term's primary election.

Sweeney received 4% of the primary vote, compared to 37% for Peltola.

Sweeney says she won't run because she can't "see a road to victory".

Questions remain concerning her withdrawal date and if Alaskan election workers will replace her.